Help First Time With Cake Making

Decorating By shanas Updated 13 Jul 2010 , 5:10pm by katibeth88

shanas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shanas Posted 13 Jul 2010 , 1:11am
post #1 of 8

icon_redface.gif I am new to the fancy fondant cake making. I am more a dinner and supper cook. I can tell you how to make anything from seafood to meat. Of course the easy things like parlines and fudge but nothing like this. I need help my daughter's 16 birthday is coming up and I want to make something nice and she wants a tier cake of course made from fondant with the little designs etc. I don't even know what kind of cake pans to buy or even what I need can someone help me please so I can start practicing. I am looking at flowers and maybe a bow on top. I have found some pre made but then I read somewhere that I need something to smooth it out etc I have no earthly idea what to buy. Thanks everyone
Shana

7 replies
awatterson Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
awatterson Posted 13 Jul 2010 , 1:18am
post #2 of 8

Check out some tutorials on youtube on smoothing fondant. There is also something on Cake Central showing how to make a fondant bow, just do a search. The marshmallow fondant recipe on here is pretty easy and cheap to use. There are some fondant smoother tools that are about $4 and way worth it. I got some of my pans from Country Kitchen SweetArt (online). Magic line and Fat Daddios are pretty good pans. The main thing is to have fun! Good luck.

shanas Posted 13 Jul 2010 , 2:33am
post #3 of 8

I am so overwhelmed with everything you need I read one thing on another site then I read something else somewhere else. oh am I so confused!!

katibeth88 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katibeth88 Posted 13 Jul 2010 , 3:19am
post #4 of 8