Cheesecake Wedding Cake??? Help

Decorating By sechrestloans Updated 6 Jul 2010 , 1:03pm by sechrestloans

sechrestloans Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sechrestloans Posted 5 Jul 2010 , 2:41am
post #1 of 15

My cousin asked me to make her wedding cake, but they want a cheesecake. How do I stack and decorate a cheesecake? How long do I cook the 12 inch? the 6 inch? I am used to making my 10 inch round cheesecake and thats it..LOL I dont want to lose the cheesecake flavor with sweet buttercream or fondant, is that even possible? I am new to this so, this is a challenge. Does anyone have experience with this? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I am very nervous about doing this cake Thank you!

14 replies
step0nmi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
step0nmi Posted 5 Jul 2010 , 2:57am
post #2 of 15

i would say just do the cheesecakes as is with some fruit on it! I've seen a brownie cake that was just stacked with the brownies themselves and then decorated in chocolate...they used the plastic columns and tiers to show off the natural beauty of the brownies....I think this would be pretty IMHO

as far as the baking time I would assume you would either subtract or minus time from the original that you normally do. Good luck!

Cindy619 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cindy619 Posted 5 Jul 2010 , 3:14am
post #3 of 15

What about frosting it with ganache instead of a buttercream? Cheesecake and chocolate go great together! Hmmm...I'm getting hungry just thinking about it icon_wink.gif

mccorda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mccorda Posted 5 Jul 2010 , 3:23am
post #4 of 15

I have made a couple cheesecake wedding cakes. I use the 3" deep round cake pans. The recipe I used is in The Cake Bible and everybody loves it. There is a frosting recipe for it as well and it pipes a pretty nice border. I used the floating cake stand to hold the cakes so they were not stacked directly on each other.