Chalk????'s

Decorating By S1eepygrl Updated 30 Jun 2010 , 2:07am by shirleart

S1eepygrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
S1eepygrl Posted 29 Jun 2010 , 6:09am
post #1 of 16

Hay Y'all,

My DD is turning 9 and we are making a cake that has chalk as medium for decorating.

This is the link http://www.wilton.com/idea/Write-Your-Own-Drama

My question is: Can I put the chalk in the food processor, then strain/sift it where we want it? Or do we have to grind it into a powder using the strainer?

I am confussed....Chalk on a cake...

Thanks for the help,
S1eepygrl and soon to be 9 yr old DD

15 replies
NanaFixIt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NanaFixIt Posted 29 Jun 2010 , 6:22am
post #2 of 16

Had to read it for myself...yep, it really says 'chalk'! I'm just a hobby baker and no expert on anything at all, but I think I'd use petal dust instead. The idea of chalk on a cake just seems icky (to use the technical term!). JMHO

Bfisher2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bfisher2 Posted 29 Jun 2010 , 6:33am
post #3 of 16

petal dust is super fine ground chalk...icon_wink.gif..... you are supos to grate your chalk against a fine wire strainer which I never found owrked all that well.... I found a pestal and mortar worked ok... you can make small amounts then....HTH

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 29 Jun 2010 , 6:38am
post #4 of 16

You can use chalk on things that won't be eaten, like gumpaste flowers. It's what we used before petal dust was easy to find. The old Wilton books use chalk on gumpaste. I wouldn't use it on an actual cake.