Where To Start?

Business By blueboy23 Updated 4 Jun 2010 , 6:51pm by PiccoloChellie

blueboy23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
blueboy23 Posted 3 Jun 2010 , 8:54pm
post #1 of 9

Hi! My name is Dustin and I live in SC. I love baking/cake decorating and would like my own bakery some day but until then I would be making cakes from home with is not a problem for me. I have a degree in culinary arts from Johnson & Wales(yay) Well anyways to the point.

I have my first order cake in October, its a grooms cake but I just have this strong appetite to really do more cake, but where do I start with market?

how did anyone of you get started and got more client? I'm also working with a shoestring budget so any suggestions would help.

8 replies
eccl1-12 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
eccl1-12 Posted 3 Jun 2010 , 9:31pm
post #2 of 9

Welcome... I don't have a business myself yet, but I do know that there are some funky laws about baking for profit without a professional kitchen. You may want to look into that a bit before you take on too much out of your home. It is frustrating though- I have a degree myself, but can not presently take on a business outside of my home.

At any rate, my uncle (the best chef in the world, in my opinion) would probably say to find something that nobody else in your area is doing, and do it well. This will give you a 'one-up' on the market. If your product is better than that of your competition, people will come to you. Along this line, this is probably a good time to be developing a selection of recipes that work for what you are going to do and taste really good too, if you don't have this already. Not all fillings and buttercreams act the same, I have discovered.