Air Bubbles In Fondant

Decorating By DEEsserts Updated 6 May 2010 , 8:00am by sweettreat101

DEEsserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DEEsserts Posted 5 May 2010 , 1:15am
post #1 of 9

Hey bakers!

When I first started making cakes I would just use the store bought cake box and store bought frosting and make my own MMF. I didn't have problems with my fondant at this point--it was always came out to be a nice smooth canvas. Now, I started making my own frosting, for example, cream cheese icing and it seems the past two cakes I've made with this the cake has looked messy. Messy meaning there was air bubbles and it wasn't smooth at all. Anyone have any tips? Do I need to put my homemade icing in the fridge for a certain amount of time? When you frost your cake do you put it in the fridge to harden? It seems like the icing is too soft or something. I hope someone can help! I'm self taught and was doing pretty good, but now it seems as though I'm taking steps backwards....help! Not sure if it's the icing or the fondant!

I have attached a picture of the bottom of the cake so you can see what
I'm talking about--see how it has air bubbles? It's just a mess!
LL

8 replies
mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 5 May 2010 , 3:06am
post #2 of 9

Cream cheese icing. That's probably your problem. There is a receipe for crusting cream cheese icing in the receipe section. I'm not for certain but I think maybe you could use that under fondant. I've never tried cream cheese icing under fondant because I've read so many post from those that have and they ended up with a mess thumbs_up.gif

sweettreat101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettreat101 Posted 5 May 2010 , 9:09am
post #3 of 9

Cream Cheese Frosting

1 cup butter
1/2 cup Crisco
16 oz. cream cheese
3 1/2 lbs powdered sugar
1 T vanilla
1/2 tsp salt

Mix on low speed for a couple of minutes.