Cake Snob?

Lounge By Rachie204 Updated 11 May 2010 , 2:14pm by costumeczar

Rachie204 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rachie204 Posted 2 May 2010 , 1:36am
post #1 of 15

I have heard the term cake snob here on cc and thought "I'm not a cake snob" But today I freaked myself out...I went to 2 parties today, one of which the cake looked ...well....not very good...at all. The cake was done by an unlicensed baker and she charged the party mom an okay price considering the cake wasn't super yummy and looked sloppy, however it just rubbed me the wrong way. The party mom didn't seem too mind, I don't think she noticed all that was wrong with the cake.

I am a hobby baker who is working on getting licensed, I am slowly learning and trying to improve my skills and for those reasons don't do cakes for other people yet. It just irritates me that someone will throw together a piece of crap and charge some unknowing person for it.....

anyways I just needed to vent....I feel better now! icon_smile.gif

14 replies
Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 2 May 2010 , 3:08am
post #2 of 15

LOL....I know, the more you work on your own cakes, the easier it is to see more unprofessional mistakes!

I'm sure the mom was totally fine with it though....I've had people send me messy cake pictures and they wanted to order it...of course I say yes and then I clean up the design a bit for them when I fill the order.

Some people just don't notice.

Rachie204 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rachie204 Posted 2 May 2010 , 3:15am
post #3 of 15

good to know someone else sees these things not just me. I feel like a freak...lol. I think,eat,sleep and live CAKE! When i get licensed I want the cakes I send out to be AS CLOSE to perfect as possible, but it's like some people just don't cake what they put their name on....