Mmf Problems

Decorating By millux Updated 24 Apr 2010 , 4:17pm by APieceofCake75

millux Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
millux Posted 24 Apr 2010 , 11:39am
post #1 of 12

Hi everyone! C: I decided to try & make some MMF yesterday for the first time. I'm a complete newbie to cakes/decorating/everything! But, I made the MMF & I kneaded it into a nice pliable dough-type structure, but when I rolled it out & tried to pick it up it to put on my cake it just fell apart! It was as if it was like.. hmm.. I don't know what was wrong with it really. It was just not right, you know? I had watched soo many videos & the texture was just wrong. I tried adding more sugar to see if I could make it less sticky & a little firmer but it made no difference whatsoever, even after multiple cups! I'm going to try making it again but I'm not sure what I can do to stop it from getting so fragile & ripping? Any tips? Thanks! C:

Oh & I used Rhonda's Ultimate MMF recipe! C:

11 replies
artscallion Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
artscallion Posted 24 Apr 2010 , 12:02pm
post #2 of 12

I usually make MFF. But am trying MMF for the first time today myself. So I'll be interested to hear the responses. Did you maybe use jet puffed marshmallows by accident?

yums Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yums Posted 24 Apr 2010 , 12:23pm
post #3 of 12

Did you let the MMF set for a day before you used it? Generally if it is too sticky you add more sugar. What recipe did you use? How did you pick it up? I don't think it matters if you used jet puffed, I use whatever is on sale.

millux Posted 24 Apr 2010 , 12:24pm
post #4 of 12

Good luck with it! C: Yup, I definitely didn't use jet-puffed ones.. I wonder what the problem was..

millux Posted 24 Apr 2010 , 12:27pm
post #5 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by yums