Urgent! How About This Combination?...

Baking By sweetlayers Updated 18 Mar 2010 , 4:52pm by TexasSugar

sweetlayers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetlayers Posted 18 Mar 2010 , 4:29am
post #1 of 9

OK, I have green tinted Armaretto/Almond cake with green tinted buttercream frosting.

Which filling would go best?
1. Baily's Irish Cream or
2. Armaretto Cream

I'm a newbie when it comes to cooking with the liquor! icon_redface.gif

8 replies
TitiaM Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TitiaM Posted 18 Mar 2010 , 4:42am
post #2 of 9

I would go with the amaretto, probably.

jlh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jlh Posted 18 Mar 2010 , 4:43am
post #3 of 9

I've tried the bailey's flavored icing, but I just can't seem to get it to keep it's flavor. Tastes great out of the bowl, but 10 hours later, you can hardly taste the flavor. I have only used the actual Baileys liquor. I just recently ordered some irish cream flavoring from local cake supply. Haven't tried the flavoring it yet. Good luck.

sweetlayers Posted 18 Mar 2010 , 4:57am
post #4 of 9

Do you think some sort of coffee, mocha, or cappachino (sp) flavoring would taste OK?

sweetlayers Posted 18 Mar 2010 , 4:58am
post #5 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlh

I've tried the bailey's flavored icing, but I just can't seem to get it to keep it's flavor. Tastes great out of the bowl, but 10 hours later, you can hardly taste the flavor. I have only used the actual Baileys liquor. I just recently ordered some irish cream flavoring from local cake supply. Haven't tried the flavoring it yet. Good luck.

Yeah, I bought the Baily's too, but am not sure how it will taste.

sweetlayers Posted 18 Mar 2010 , 5:04am
post #6 of 9

Also, when you make a cake with liquor are you supposed to get the tingly drunk feeling when you taste it? I thought the alcohol was supposed to cook out.

jlh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jlh Posted 18 Mar 2010 , 5:32am
post #7 of 9