Please Tell Me The Best Rolling Pin For Fondant>>>

Decorating By andpotts Updated 23 Jan 2010 , 6:24am by madgeowens

andpotts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
andpotts Posted 1 Jan 2010 , 7:33am
post #1 of 25

Hi, I am just to get myself set up to move into the world of Fondant (still scared). I had a PVC pipe on my list, as that was mentioned in a few post for rolling fondant, but I have now watched Sugarshack's Fondant DVD a few times and I don't think I will be able to use a PVC pipe to get the pressure on top of it the way it looks like will be nescessary.

So Please tell me what rolling pins all of you Fondant pros recommend, especially for a beginner Fondantketeer? Thank You! Andrea

24 replies
Pinki Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pinki Posted 1 Jan 2010 , 7:37am
post #2 of 25

Well, I am a newbie and have only done fondent on a few cakes so far. The first two I used a wooden rolling pin and a plastic one. I had difficulty until I got the large Wilton fondent roller. I love it and it has worked great for me.

Beckup Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Beckup Posted 1 Jan 2010 , 8:03am
post #3 of 25

Do not...I repeat Do Not buy one of those yellow (golden yellow) ones from Wilton. My hubby thought he was doing good buying me one. I broke it the 3rd time I rolled fondant with it. It can't handle that much pressure. I use a combination of a PVC pipe and a large wooden rolling pin I bought at a restaurant supply store. HTH.

Pinki Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pinki Posted 1 Jan 2010 , 8:11am
post #4 of 25

The one I have from Wilton that I really like is not the yellow one. I agree with Beckup that the yellow one is not the one to get. The one I have is white and does not have any handles. You can buy sizing rings to go with it so you can make your fondent a certain width when you roll it (ie 1/16", 1/8"). I can use as much pressure as I need to with it.

KateLS Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KateLS Posted 1 Jan 2010 , 9:30am
post #5 of 25