Feel Like I'm Drowning. . Advice???

Business By forheavenscake Updated 29 Sep 2009 , 8:15pm by cakesbycathy

forheavenscake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
forheavenscake Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 4:35pm
post #1 of 13

So just about a month ago I decided to start trying this whole cake decorating stuff. I absolutely love it and am so excited to see what will come of it. . .well I didn't quite expect such a big response. (bit for me anyway) I already have 3 cakes requested from friends. Since I am just starting out I was just going to charge for how much it costs me to actually make the cake. Figuring it is good practice for me and free advertising cause they are all for big events etc.

Well because I am starting out I have absolutely NO SUPPLIES! Which means for every cake I have to spend a butt load of money to get the pans/molds/tools etc.

I assume I am not the only one facing this beginners challenge. . how did you all handle it or what would you suggest I do to be able to afford the supplies. . cause I was honestly not expecting to have to pay so much so quick, figuring I'd just make a cake here and there.

Anyway, thanks for listening to me ramble. . I would really appreciate some advice.

12 replies
Auryn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Auryn Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 4:45pm
post #2 of 13

If your friends want you to make them something and you don't have the pan for it, tell them and let them know they are free to by it for you.
If they don't want to buy the pan then you can only make shapes and sizes you already have.

Its one thing for you to buy yourself a few standard sizes, but if they want something weird or out of the ordinary that you wont use often, they should buy it for you.

mcdonald Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mcdonald Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 4:47pm
post #3 of 13