What Butter For Icing?

Decorating By kausha Updated 21 Sep 2009 , 6:57am by kausha

kausha Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kausha Posted 20 Sep 2009 , 10:02pm
post #1 of 5

Hi Everyone,

I am very new to the cake baking and icing. Just started a year ago and I should say I manage it very well.
What my question and doubt is..what butter is best for buttercream icing? I live in Italy and shortening is not available. And when I use the normal butter and make the butter cream it isn't snow white !! its off white to a creamier color?

What could I do to have the buttercream white ( so that i cud get it to the correct colour when I collour the icing)

Hope someone replies me...

Thank you icon_smile.gif

4 replies
Deb_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deb_ Posted 20 Sep 2009 , 11:36pm
post #2 of 5

Hi,

My all butter buttercream icing isn't pure white but it's pretty close. The longer you beat the butter the lighter in color it will become.

Some people add a little drop of violet coloring to make it appear whiter. Another option is a bright white coloring by Wilton that will bleach out the icing. I'm not sure if you have access to that in Italy though.

HTH

Jeff_Arnett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeff_Arnett Posted 21 Sep 2009 , 12:18am
post #3 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by kausha

Hi Everyone,

I am very new to the cake baking and icing. Just started a year ago and I should say I manage it very well.
What my question and doubt is..what butter is best for buttercream icing? I live in Italy and shortening is not available. And when I use the normal butter and make the butter cream it isn't snow white !! its off white to a creamier color?

What could I do to have the buttercream white ( so that i cud get it to the correct colour when I collour the icing)

Hope someone replies me...

Thank you icon_smile.gif