What Is Creativity To You?

Decorating By MrsNancyB1 Updated 25 Aug 2009 , 11:49pm by lthiele

MrsNancyB1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsNancyB1 Posted 25 Aug 2009 , 1:57am
post #1 of 14

I am just a beginner when it comes to cake making and decorating, but I've already developed an obsession and I already have several cakes lined up to make for birthdays, Christmas, Mother's Day etc.

Of course I get a sort of idea of what I would like to incorporate in a cake. For instance, I'll be making my husband's birthday cake this year, and he loves everything to do with sea life. I was brainstorming a few ideas, and then I went browsing in the gallery and found a cake that I love and put it in my favorites so that I could re-create it. I loved the colors, the design, the cute figures everything.

So if a person does this, does it mean they're not a creative cake designer? If a person were to sell a cake they recreated, is this fair? Do they get to take the credit for the 'ooohs and aaahs' that recreated cake might generate?

What are your thoughts?

13 replies
veronica720 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
veronica720 Posted 25 Aug 2009 , 2:07am
post #2 of 14

I have a hard time coming up with original ideas for some of my cakes, cause it seems like everytime I think of something cool I look in the gallery and someone has already done it.

But if you can 'recreate' a cake from a pic then I would think you can take credit for making it. Have you seen some of the cakes on cakewrecks that were supposed to be like another. Most didn't even come close, so if you can make it like the pic you do have talent.

terrylee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
terrylee Posted 25 Aug 2009 , 2:11am
post #3 of 14

I don't have a real creative mind on my own.....show me a picture and I can come close......I think most of us have taken ideas from the CC gallery or magizines and such and "recreated" that cake..