Feeling Torn And Bewildered... Kinda Long.... Sorry

Business By CakeInfatuation Updated 22 Aug 2009 , 9:47pm by myslady

CakeInfatuation Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeInfatuation Posted 22 Aug 2009 , 2:00pm
post #1 of 18

Okay... so I've been decorating cakes since March of 2008 when I took my first Wilton course. I love cakes and decorating. Even when I don't have a project that needs to be done, I sit down with my fondant or gum paste and start creating something or I start planning in my head for a project I can do just to be able to create.

Because of my addiction and the need for money... I figured I'd open up shop from home. Get my variance, license, llc, insurance, and start advertising... BUT... had mixed emotions about the book keeping, tax time, and logistics of being legal. Not that I can't do it... I've been doing my own taxes with a 10-99 for a few years... but it is WORK!

Then I find an ad for a bakery looking for a cake stylist. I contacted them on Sunday and by Tuesday I had an interview. Got the job so I can work 1 day a week regularly and then extra as needed for the custom cakes. My job there is to make sure that the more detailed and "clean" cakes go out of the shop with the WOW factor the customer expects.

It's going well... BUT the longer I'm there... despite how much I love my colleagues and my bosses... there are things that I have a hard time with. How long product is left in the displays... the quality of some of the product that goes out, and how icky the decorating room, bathrooms, and kitchen are. Everything is slimy. Then the orders aren't taken real clearly and there is miscommunication... upset clients... etc.