Cheap Cakers Post Here!

Decorating By Texas_Rose Updated 26 Oct 2010 , 3:04am by chelleb1974

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 7 Jul 2009 , 5:41pm
post #1 of 94

There are so many lovely things that I've seen for working with fondant and so many of them are so expensive that I'll probably never get them. I'm a hobby baker so I can't justify huge expenses for equipment and I only have one birthday a year icon_lol.gificon_lol.gificon_lol.gif

So what inexpensive things have you found that work as fondant tools? Here are mine:

Piece of vinyl for a rolling mat
Pattern tracing wheel
Fiskars 18mm rotary cutter
hollow plastic lollipop sticks (for making flower center impressions and dots)
Herb Mincer (it cost $5 at Target and I've gotten a lot of use out of it)
slant-tip tweezers
pastry wheel
bench scraper
Placemat and clear plastic stamps for impression mats
Chocolate molds for fondant designs

93 replies
SUELA Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SUELA Posted 7 Jul 2009 , 5:50pm
post #2 of 94

What do you use the herb mincer for?

Karenreg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Karenreg Posted 7 Jul 2009 , 6:02pm
post #3 of 94

I too make cakes just as a hobby .But I've ended up spending soo much on equipments icon_sad.gif

I wish I could use alternate equipments like u Texas_Rose .tx for sharing ur tips thumbs_up.gif

Texas_Rose Posted 7 Jul 2009 , 6:09pm
post #4 of 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by SUELA

It will cut a bunch of narrow, even strips at once. You can use several strips stuck together to make a ribbon with lines down the middle, or use single strips for narrow stripes or even tiny bows for mini cakes.

Here are a couple of things I've used it for:
LL
LL
LL
LL

__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 7 Jul 2009 , 6:15pm
post #5 of 94
Quote:

I just used mine to make a pattern on my stripes for this cake:

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1408584