First Dummy Cake And First Time With Satin Ice. Frustrated!!

Decorating By CakeInfatuation Updated 23 Jun 2009 , 12:22am by ptanyer

CakeInfatuation Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeInfatuation Posted 10 Jun 2009 , 12:32pm
post #1 of 22

I got hired by a local bakery and they want me to make several dummy cakes in "my style" for the shop. So I went to the shop yesterday, picked up supplies including a 20lb bucket of Satin Ice. I've never used it before but it seemed to have a nice consistency right off. I covered my cake and in no time, it started cracking.

When I woke up this morning, my grill had cracks all around the top edge and the fondant is actually stretching and sliding ever so slowly down the cake. I

I used a foam circle, covered with royal, let it sit just a bit, then covered with Satin Ice. I rolled the SI with a little shortening and it seemed fine when I first put it on.

Should I have used piping gel or something on the icing before covering? I have a ton more to do but don't want them all turning out cracked and droopy. I'm sooo disappointed. This is my first project for the bakery and I wanted it to be perfect.

21 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 10 Jun 2009 , 12:46pm
post #2 of 22

Did you sand off the top edge of the dummy? If you leave it a sharp edge on there it will cause your issue.

You can also put a stocking on a curling iron and use that heated covered instrument to melt down the edge--my girlfriend told me that --I've never tried that one--I use sandpaper.

And and and--I don't use royal icing--I just run my dummy under the faucet and shake off the excess and slap on the (already rolled out) fondant. Some people use a brush to brush on water or a mister.