How Large Is This Flower?

Decorating By MacsMom Updated 22 Apr 2009 , 6:39pm by MacsMom

MacsMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MacsMom Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 3:22pm
post #1 of 8

My neighbor wants this cake for her wedding, but in white with pink orchids; I will make them if I have to, but I'm a newbie to sugarpaste flowers.

So... how large do you think these are? I found some online in white that I assume I can color with petal dust (?) in either 4" or 5 1/2". My guess is 4" is not large enough...

TIA!!
LL

7 replies
Sugarflowers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugarflowers Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 3:34pm
post #2 of 8

I coudn't see the picture. You could try calling the company and asking them what the size is.

HTH

Michele

MacsMom Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 3:41pm
post #3 of 8

It's by InticingCreations.com - here's the link
http://inticingcreations.com/grnbrn_wed_cake.html

I am such a novice with flowers I don't even know what type of orchid it is! Cymbidium? Cattleya?

lasidus1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lasidus1 Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 3:43pm
post #4 of 8

i'd say those flowers are about 4 1/2 inches, maybe 5 when laid out flat. that top tier looks like a 6" so that's where i'm getting my reference point from.

cblupe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cblupe Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 3:44pm
post #5 of 8

Those flowers look real to me. I am thinking they look the 5 1/2 size. Good luck!

matthewkyrankelly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
matthewkyrankelly Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 3:57pm
post #6 of 8

To me it looks like a 5 1/2" flower. If you estimate that the cake tiers are 6", 8", 10", and 12", then the size seems appropriate. Also, even if the sizes are off a little, the finished work will be impressive. These flowers are meant to stand alone, so don't worry about being exact.