How Long Can You Keep Fandant And Gum Paste?

Decorating By cleghorn Updated 27 Mar 2009 , 3:02am by cleghorn

cleghorn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cleghorn Posted 26 Mar 2009 , 5:47pm
post #1 of 7

Hi! All,
I'm new to the site & I must say its great! I find my self on it every time I sit down! I'm just a home baker that has always used butter cream, But after seeing all the cakes done with fondant, and gum paste. I'm ready to give it a shot!
I was wondering if made ahead of time how long does fondant and gum paste keep in the frig?
Thanks,
Patrice icon_biggrin.gif

6 replies
susanscakecreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
susanscakecreations Posted 26 Mar 2009 , 6:04pm
post #2 of 7

Hi Patrice, and welcome!
I don't put fondant or gumpaste in the refrigerator......(from what I've read/heard you don't need to)...........I just keep it wrapped tightly in plastic wrap (doubled) and then in a large plastic bag.......I'm unsure as to how long it will keep; I don't usually have a lot left over.......maybe someone else can answer that......

cleghorn Posted 26 Mar 2009 , 7:35pm
post #3 of 7

Do you make it use it same day?

susanscakecreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
susanscakecreations Posted 26 Mar 2009 , 7:40pm
post #4 of 7

Yes, I make it and use it in the same day......but I usually let it rest for a bit after I make it; but I have had some that I've kept for 2 weeks or better............and it's still good...........

brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 26 Mar 2009 , 8:30pm
post #5 of 7

if you make it in advance, it lets the colours develop - good for dark colours.
i buy mine, so i guess home made is different, and keeps for less time, but bought stuff has a massive use buy date.
xx

Cakepro Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakepro Posted 26 Mar 2009 , 8:47pm
post #6 of 7