Transporting A Wedding Cake 230 Miles

Decorating By nisha_ru Updated 12 Mar 2009 , 10:03pm by mariela_ms

nisha_ru Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nisha_ru Posted 12 Mar 2009 , 4:37pm
post #1 of 8

I am making a wedding cake for my Aunt in a month, I will have to transport it 230 miles after it's made. How much assembling should I do before I transport it? It will be covered in fondant and I'm not very experienced when it comes to fondant covered cakes.
Any advice would be much appreciated!

7 replies
Maris307 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Maris307 Posted 12 Mar 2009 , 7:18pm
post #2 of 8

Hi Nisha_ru we seem to be on sister boats. I'm making a wedding cake for my SIL's wedding on April 4th. She's 254 miles away. I'm anxious to see what others reply to you.

The wedding is on Saturday and we'll probably leave Thursday morning. My plan is to have the cakes filled and at least crumb coated before we leave. (The whole family is going. DH and kids are in the wedding.) We will take the cakes in individual cake boxes. This includes a 16", 12", 10" and 8" rounds. I plan to do the rest of the decorating there.

Good luck! Hope this helps.

nisha_ru Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nisha_ru Posted 12 Mar 2009 , 7:48pm
post #3 of 8

I was thinking the same, except I can't leave until Thursday noon, and the wedding is at 11am on Friday. I'm not sure if I should cover the cakes with fondant before traveling, or if that's just asking for trouble!

cb_one Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cb_one Posted 12 Mar 2009 , 8:58pm
post #4 of 8

How many Tiers? If its over 3 I would keep the Tiers in seperate boxes. They should be fine for the trip though.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 12 Mar 2009 , 9:41pm
post #5 of 8

You can completely finish each tier separately, box and then put together once you get there.