Help?

Decorating By alyciaaaxx Updated 8 Mar 2009 , 2:48pm by alyciaaaxx

alyciaaaxx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alyciaaaxx Posted 1 Mar 2009 , 5:48am
post #1 of 15

hey everyone
im new to cc. im still in high school and have recently really gotten into making cakes. i love baking!

im trying out buttercream for the first time this week. any tips? im absolutely SCARED of messing this up! please help!! icon_eek.gif

14 replies
Toptier Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Toptier Posted 1 Mar 2009 , 8:21am
post #2 of 15

Tell us what kind of buttercream are you making? Is it one of the recipes on here?

Cake_Princess Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cake_Princess Posted 1 Mar 2009 , 10:06am
post #3 of 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by alyciaaaxx

hey everyone
im new to cc. im still in high school and have recently really gotten into making cakes. i love baking!

im trying out buttercream for the first time this week. any tips? im absolutely SCARED of messing this up! please help!! icon_eek.gif

Well messing up is part of the learning process. If you make a mistake you learn how to fix it and move one.

Buttercream can be pretty forgiving and easy to work with. I am not sure which recipe you are using but usually if the icing is too soft add more powder sugar. If it's too stiff add more liquid.

Rose_N_Crantz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rose_N_Crantz Posted 1 Mar 2009 , 4:16pm
post #4 of 15

This is an issue I have to this day, and I doubt I'll ever get over it. I have to set myself a time limit when I'm base-icing. I have a tendency to try to fix every little bump or line and after a while the cake starts looking worse than it did before! So once I start smoothing the bc, I give myself a max of five minutes. After that, regardless if it's perfect or not, I walk away. If I see a crumb or any other imperfection, guess where the flowers are gonna go???? lol.