Cake Fell Over

Decorating By donyell Updated 10 Feb 2009 , 5:48pm by KoryAK

donyell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
donyell Posted 9 Feb 2009 , 4:46pm
post #1 of 15

Can anyone please help me! Below is my cake and a sample picture of the shape. bottom was 9'& 10', middle was 7'& 8' and top 5' & 6'. I was thinking maybe my bottom and middle was da problem. I transported in trunk and when I arrived the 2 tops had busted the bottom tier. Do you have to use 3 layers for each section when doing a whimsical / turvy cake. The middle section mid air with nothing supporting it underneath. I probably should have used a smaller bottom for the mid section or a larger top for the bottom section. I'm new to decoarting so please help!

Donyell,
LL
LL
LL

14 replies
summernoelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
summernoelle Posted 9 Feb 2009 , 4:52pm
post #2 of 15

What types of supports did you use? Did I read right that you didn't use any? If so, then that is def. the reason this cake fell. You can never ever ever not use supports, but that is even more important with a Topsy Turvy Cake.

Also, it looks like the cake doesn't have a center of gravity-where the center of each cake lines up perfectly.

Rosie2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rosie2 Posted 9 Feb 2009 , 4:53pm
post #3 of 15

I'm very sorry that this happened to you icon_sad.gif...I've never done a cake like that myself but maybe some of the experts can give you some advice here.
Good luck!

Cakepro Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakepro Posted 9 Feb 2009 , 4:56pm
post #4 of 15

Experience is a cruel teacher.

FromScratch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratch Posted 9 Feb 2009 , 5:05pm
post #5 of 15

Did you have any supports in your cake? If you didn't then that right there is why it fell. You need to have cake boards under each tier and dowels in each tier that has a tier sitting on it. If not, the weight of the top tiers will crush the bottom tier(s).