Arrrggghhh!!wilton Gum Paste Fondant Letter And Number Mold.

Decorating By CookiezNCupcakez Updated 8 Jan 2009 , 6:44pm by CookiezNCupcakez

CookiezNCupcakez Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CookiezNCupcakez Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 8:38am
post #1 of 9

icon_mad.gif I'm a complete newbie to EVERYTHING decorating..... So I didn't know wilton products suck! I'm in Canada so my options for other brands are limted.... Went out bought some fondant tools etc... made my own MMF wich was beautiful used it for a b day cake and christmas cookies and a few other things...
Got this letter mold do hicky thought I would practice using it b4 my son's 2nd bday(march 30th) and it SUCKS!!! I tried there method..terrible tried my method a lil better but not so much with the detailed letters..
Anyone have any tips for me on how to use this thing plzzzzzzzzzzzz icon_redface.gif
The only cutters they sell for the alpha are block and I thought I would use this mold cause the letters are a lil more fancy...I paid 30.00$ for this GRRRRRRR

Thanks for listening and I would be greatful for your help

8 replies
PatricesPieces Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PatricesPieces Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 8:52am
post #2 of 9

Which mold is it?? When stamping out letters, it is usually best to let the fondant or gumpaste sit a bit after you roll it out. Make sure you have plenty of cornstarch on your cutters. I also dust the gumpaste too. It will keep them from sticking. I hope this helps.

Good luck!!

banba Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
banba Posted 8 Jan 2009 , 9:20am
post #3 of 9

I agree with the pervious poster. I roll the fondant out pretty thin and lay it on the counter for a while and then I turn it over and let that side dry out for a little while too.