First Paid Cake!

Decorating By QueenOfSweets Updated 29 Dec 2008 , 9:11pm by pattycakescookies

QueenOfSweets Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
QueenOfSweets Posted 24 Dec 2008 , 5:40pm
post #1 of 25

I just delivered my first paid cake order today. I'm very relieved and just wanted to share my excitement with all of you who can relate to being so giddy over a cake! I've been doing this for just a few months for friends and family, but always for free. I've never taken any classes, just practiced as much as possible. A coworker ordered her son's 3rd birthday cake from me after tasting some cupcakes I brought in to share. While I'm overall happy with the way the cake turned out, I know I have some things to work on - particularly getting my buttercream to have a smoother finish. I've included a picture below and would appreciate any feedback from the veterans and others on this site. Both cakes are white vanilla sour cream, with snickers buttercream filling and buttercream icing. The stars and border are rolled buttercream. The cake on the left is an 8" round, and the one on the right a 6" round (intended just for the birthday boy and his cousins). I've picked up so many tips and useful tidbits from everyone, so a BIG thank you!!
LL

24 replies
Cathy26 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cathy26 Posted 24 Dec 2008 , 8:20pm
post #2 of 25

great job! im in the same boat and have sold two cakes now and i understand how nerve wrecking it is as a beginner! those are lovely and you should be very proud! Happy Christmas!

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 24 Dec 2008 , 8:50pm
post #3 of 25

These look awesome! I bet you start getting lots of orders now. Doing a cake with no border on the top is not easy (at least for me) and you did very well on these.

FlourPots Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FlourPots Posted 24 Dec 2008 , 8:56pm
post #4 of 25

I think you did a really great job...they both look neat and clean.