Suggestions On How To Handle This....

Decorating By Malakin Updated 10 Dec 2008 , 12:50am by KitchenKat

Malakin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Malakin Posted 7 Dec 2008 , 7:39pm
post #1 of 34

I'm depressed, aggravated, etc. I recently entered a local gingerbread contest. My first house ever which took me 70 hours to complete. There were to be 3 categories total, one was school entries, the next was community, and the third category was to be professional. I am only a hobby baker and it was their executive decision not to put my entry into professional, but to enter it into community. My problem is that each category was to have a first place, second place, third place, and honorable mention ribbon. These ribbons were given out for the school category and the professional category. But, my complaint isn't that I didn't get a ribbon in my category (although my gingergread house got the highest bid out of all shown at that contest), but that no one, and I mean NO ONE in the community category received one at all. Not one single ribbon in that category. It's like they forgot to even judge our community category.
When the committee was asked why no one received any ribbon at all, they said something wasn't right and they would get back in touch. Well, no one ever called me. I decided I won't be back next year.
My question is what would all of you do to advise the committee of your disproval of the situation? I can't keep quiet but I don't want it to seem like I am a sore loser when no one won. NO ONE GOT A RIBBON........

33 replies
chutzpah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chutzpah Posted 7 Dec 2008 , 7:47pm
post #2 of 34

I would definately call and point out that the category obviously wasn't judged. I mean, if no one won in the category....it's pretty obvious that something is wrong.

They haven't gotten back to you because they messed up and they know it. They're all hiding their heads in the sand!

weirkd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile