Cakes Being Refrigerated

Decorating By alewop Updated 12 Nov 2008 , 6:48pm by FullHouse

alewop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alewop Posted 12 Nov 2008 , 7:33am
post #1 of 6

I'm very new to cake decorating as im sure this question make obvious.. but can somebody sum up for me when you are suppose to refrigerate cake and when not to? For instance, after i do my crumb coating of BC, do i let it crust in the fridge or on its own? I read somewhere that if you put it in the fridge the moisture when you bring it out will cause the icing to run off. I live in Georgia (VERY HUMID! ICK!) so i could see why this would be true. Also, your NOT suppose to refrigerate fondant covered cakes...right?

What is the best way to keep your cake yummy a) before decorating and b) after decorating?

thanks so much!

5 replies
Lorendabug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lorendabug Posted 12 Nov 2008 , 8:04am
post #2 of 6

Sorry I am in California so no humidity to deal with here. I like to crumb coat, put in fridge and then finish frosting.

I like to store my cakes in the fridge, but like them at room temp when I serve. Of course this all depends on if there is anything in it that needs to be refridgerated. If I have used a custard type of filling or anything that may spoil if not kept chilled it goes in the fridge. Cake does not last long around my house so I never really have to worry about keeping it fresh for long.

I work with buttercream more than fondant so I am sure there will be someone to help you out with that.

Tartacadabra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tartacadabra Posted 12 Nov 2008 , 9:49am
post #3 of 6

Hi, I am from Holland so yeah lots of humidity here too icon_wink.gif I normally put my cakes after crumbcoating just for a little while in the fridge but it isn't necessary when you are going to use fondant as the next layer.