Odd Way Of Being "asked" To Do A Delayed Reception

Decorating By GenGen Updated 5 Aug 2008 , 9:35pm by GenGen

GenGen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GenGen Posted 4 Aug 2008 , 8:22am
post #1 of 39

bit of a history here first.. the bride in the center of things just graduated a few months ago.. she and siblings grew up the last 7 years with mine; and before we moved here, we visited tons with them... in all the years we all were practically family as close as everyone was and all things we've done for one another..

flash back to a week ago... well a week ago tomorrow... this time at night.. i get an email announcing the bride (above) had gotten married the day before; the groom was the son of my husbands coworker/former boss... planning had gone on for almost a week; not a word mentioned to us at all.. was told in the email the wedding was so short notice they just had immediate family present..

ok 1. i had No problem not being invited to the wedding.. though i'm not a professional cake decorator etc; having been a member here has helped me understand alot better how hectic etc weddings can be.. i wasn't hurt not being invited to the wedding..

i was hurt not being told and left out of the chance to share in some sort of way the joy of her being married. now this isn't all the brides fault.. and please dont take this the wrong way, its mostly the MOB's.. she's the one who all these years was well my closest friend here (where we live)..

and for the MOB not to even just say "hey my daughters getting married.. unfortunately we are on such short notice we're hving just family present but i just wanted to share the excitement with you"... i got a delayed email and pics of the bride and groom also via email. no phone call no personal notice..

Now to the point of the post i come home to this email: keep in mind i was not asked to do a cake for them at all prior to this email:

Quote:
Quote: