Some Advice About Making Mickey Ears

Decorating By loriana Updated 22 Sep 2008 , 8:12pm by messy_chef

loriana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
loriana Posted 15 Jul 2008 , 1:21pm
post #1 of 11

Hi folks! My friend and co-worker wants this cake for her daughter's minney mouse party. I will be making it 1 tier, probably an 8" tier with a little ball pan (right?) for the hat on top. The fondant will be pink instead of the colors shown and should match Minney's bow on top.

Any suggestions for making sure this hat looks good? The picture looks like black fondant,but not sure how they did the ears. Do you think they are gumpaste covered in black sanding sugar? Any advice at all? Thank you!!
LL

10 replies
bemshelt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bemshelt Posted 15 Jul 2008 , 1:46pm
post #2 of 11

I would make them out of rice krispy treats and cover with black fondant. Then roll in black sanding sugar. I'd also make the bow out of gumpaste. BUT...I'm kind of new at fondant so I would take other suggestions first icon_smile.gif Good luck and I hope it works out well for you and the birthday girl!

Hawkette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Hawkette Posted 15 Jul 2008 , 1:51pm
post #3 of 11

I tried the hat a while back and thought it would be cool to use chocolate chip cookies for the ears and cover them in fondant. In case you're curious -- it is not so cool. icon_smile.gif I had a terrible time getting the cookies to stand up in the cake and they kept crumbling when I added toothpicks to hold them.

Most of the ones I've seen people use fondant that's dried REALLY well. (So yes, gumpaste would work, too.) If you don't have 3+ weeks to dry fondant, I've also heard of people who use cardboard circles and cover them in fondant. The sanding sugar idea is really cute! I like the added sparkle.

Hope this helps!

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 15 Jul 2008 , 3:40pm
post #4 of 11