I've Seen The Light... Long And Might Be Confusing

Business By wgoat5 Updated 16 Jul 2008 , 12:31pm by Donnagardner

wgoat5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wgoat5 Posted 15 Jul 2008 , 6:05am
post #1 of 38

Hello cake friends icon_smile.gif . I am a illegal home baker... There I said it LOL. Have been for awhile.. But... after taking a much needed break with my kids (back has been out OUCH) I have decided to no longer bake for profit. Not until I have my ducks in a row at least. I have REALLY enjoyed the time off. I have called and cancelled orders that were for in August and Sept. I noticed that when I did this for profit... out of my home... I totally changed the way I acted towards my family. I was snippy... tired....and ohhh wayyyy to a$$holish (not a word but I love it LOL) to other people I love and care about. I actually would start getting sick near the due dates. Tummy would start bothering me and it became a real chore to do ANYTHING.... I would do gumpaste or fondant work (figures and such) WAY before the cake was due so that I would have that out of the way....and with 3 kids and a big ole kid as a DH I would have trouble keeping my work out of their way icon_rolleyes.gif ... I would bark at them constantly about being careful.
Don't get me wrong. I LOVE this... I love the feeling it gives me when I hand over a cake to a client (that is if I like the cake which is rare), but I find it way to stressful in this point of my life to do this all the time.

And kids icon_wink.gif it is true... the real money is in the wedding cakes. Which I won't do because the stress factor is way to much. I have ZERO confidence. Doesn't matter that the clients like my cakes... or what have you.. but I truly see every imperfection in my work...which makes me a nervous wreck.