Atten: Cake Experts Only!

Baking By dcabrera Updated 29 Jun 2008 , 2:34pm by luvbakin

dcabrera Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dcabrera Posted 24 Jun 2008 , 6:25pm
post #1 of 17

I'm very new at cake decorating and I'm crazy in love with this art. I've been going nuts trying to do everything from scratch. Also finding the perfect buttercream/cake mix recipes. In all honesty, how many of you actually make you cake mix from scratch? icon_smile.gif

16 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 24 Jun 2008 , 11:55pm
post #2 of 17

Your title will prevent many scratch bakers from posting. I think the scratch/cake mix may be nearly 50/50. I use scratch for everything but white cake. I have yet to find a satisfactory white cake recipe.

Just choose a good book, like the Cake Bible, and start trying recipes until you have a few 'go to' recipes for the basic flavors.

CakeDiva73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva73 Posted 25 Jun 2008 , 12:04am
post #3 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoAnnB

Your title will prevent many scratch bakers from posting.

agreed.......it puts people off. Any true cake 'expert' didn't become one by asking around for other peoples perfected recipes. icon_smile.gif They undoubtedly tried and failed repeatedly until they found what worked for them. The library, for starters....here in the recipe sections, etc.

I, on the other hand, am not offended since I am not a cake 'expert!' icon_razz.gif

P.S. I am, however, a domestic goddess so if you ever need one of those, give me a holler!

dcabrera Posted 28 Jun 2008 , 10:17pm
post #4 of 17

Ooooops. I some how posted this topic in the wrong forum. Sorry if I offended anyone with this topic. What I meant is, it gets pretty expensive baking from scratch, and I just wanted to know what has worked best for you experienced cakist (sp). I know I wouldn't want advice from someone like me a who doesn't have any experience. Sorry again icon_redface.gif