Starting Business In Texas

Business By munchkin71 Updated 14 Jun 2008 , 4:57am by munchkin71

munchkin71 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
munchkin71 Posted 14 Jun 2008 , 1:30am
post #1 of 7

I am new to CC and this is my first post. I am totally confused about the criteria for a cake business in Texas. I have sat for hours reading posts in the forums and I have not come across any that answer my questions. I have been told that in Texas the criteria varies from county to county. I have gone to the link listed for Texas on CC and cannot make heads or tails of where I need to look. I live on 88 acres in Liberty county and am wanting to build my shop on my land but I am not sure of the legalities of it all. I was assigned a mentor through the SBA but my mentor is out of California and has no idea about Texas. Any help would be greatly appreciated. icon_smile.gif

6 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 14 Jun 2008 , 2:20am
post #2 of 7

Your county health department would be a very good resource. They will tell you about the kitchen requirements, then you have to deal with the zoning and permits people. Best of luck!

munchkin71 Posted 14 Jun 2008 , 2:31am
post #3 of 7

Thanks so much JoannB. I have spents hour upon hour searching the forums for answers. Minutes after I posted I found what I had been looking for. Thanks again. icon_biggrin.gif

DebBTX Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DebBTX Posted 14 Jun 2008 , 2:49am
post #4 of 7

A good source of information for Texas would be on Earlene Moore's web site. She has pictures of her kitchen, business articles, and what the health department expects. She lives in Lubbock, TX.
-Debbie B.

Batter-UpBakery Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Batter-UpBakery Posted 14 Jun 2008 , 2:51am
post #5 of 7