What Was She Thinking? (Guess I Should Be Flattered...)

Decorating By cakelady11215 Updated 10 May 2008 , 3:59am by traci

cakelady11215 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakelady11215 Posted 8 May 2008 , 12:13am
post #1 of 36

got an order for this cake for someone's graduation in less than 2 weeks...omg...i've never done a building before...let alone one like this. the only thing i've done so far is buy the ball pan...i need serious help! anyone have any advice/suggestions/pointers, etc? thank you so much!!!!
LL

35 replies
diane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
diane Posted 8 May 2008 , 1:20am
post #2 of 36

ooh...i don't know. if you've haven't had much experience with 3d cakes, especially something this difficult, maybe you might ask her if she would consider something a little less difficult.

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 8 May 2008 , 1:29am
post #3 of 36

She's been watching too much Ace of Cakes.

StephW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
StephW Posted 8 May 2008 , 1:31am
post #4 of 36

Call Geoff Manthorne for help?? He does great looking buildings... haha

Sorry, I don't have any useful advice. Good luck.

cakesbyallison Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbyallison Posted 8 May 2008 , 1:33am
post #5 of 36

Wow! You'll have to channel your inner "Duff"! How much actual cake does she need (to determine scale). Can some of it be done from cake dummies? ...maybe the bottom tier? If you think you can conquer it, go for it! ...just give yourself plenty of time to work on - and charge accordingly!! If you don't think you can tackle it... be honest, and tell her you'll give it your best shot, but no guarantees! Good luck!!

bake-A-cake00 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bake-A-cake00 Posted 8 May 2008 , 1:37am
post #6 of 36

Forget Duff...Ask DOUG!!!! he's the only person I can think of that will be helpful...Good Luck icon_smile.gif

tonedna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tonedna Posted 8 May 2008 , 1:38am