Another Sugar Beer Bottle Recipe?

Decorating By sugarMomma Updated 27 May 2008 , 2:06am by sugarMomma

sugarMomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarMomma Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 2:37am
post #1 of 38

I have a problem with mine coming out sticky, and progressively getting worse (due to humidity I suppose). Is there anything I can add to the recipe to harden it (what does isomalt do), or can I change the proportions to less corn syrup?

Currently I am using Sweet Results recipe of 1/2 cup each corn syrup and sugar.

37 replies
sugarMomma Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 4:39am
post #2 of 38

Any sugar workers out there?

ibmoser Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ibmoser Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 2:11pm
post #3 of 38

I'm just getting into the sugar bottles. I live on the coast, so humidity is a huge problem for me, too. I have finally made two pretty good bottles using SweetResults' method, and I am storing them in a plastic container with desiccant as an experiment. I have found that if I don't get the temp of the melted sugar to at least 310° that the product will be sticky. This is a problem if you want clear sugar icon_lol.gif . I have bought a small amount of Isomalt to try and am hoping that it will give me almost clear results. I tried making a "diamond" for a gumpaste engagement ring, but it ended up looking like topaz instead icon_cry.gif . Maybe some experts can give up both some advice thumbs_up.gif

sugarMomma Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 3:08pm
post #4 of 38

How much isomalt do you add? What exactly does it do?

ibmoser Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 5:04pm
post #5 of 38

Isomalt is a sugar substitute - it is a white substance that looks like sugar. You use just Isomalt and enough water to dissolve it - nothing else. You can, of course, add color or flavorings. It supposedly is a bit less hygroscopic than sugar, so it should hold up better in humid climates. Check out

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isomalt