Does Anyone Use Clay Molds For Gumpaste Figures? Questions

Decorating By Bellatheball Updated 8 Apr 2008 , 12:05pm by snowshoe1

Bellatheball Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bellatheball Posted 7 Apr 2008 , 6:09pm
post #1 of 6

I saw the cutest little clay molds at Michaels this weekend. They had a variety of faces which got me thinking about gumpaste. I'm no artist so I'd have to take some short cuts rather than make faces on my own. However, most of these faces are not 3D and therefore do not have the back of the head incorporated in to the mold.

Does anyone else use these? If so, what are the tricks to make the faces in to 3D heads?

5 replies
smbegg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smbegg Posted 8 Apr 2008 , 3:32am
post #2 of 6

I don't know about the faces, but I use the clay molds all the time. They are way cheaper than the food ones. Just grease em with shortening and your ready to go!

Stephanie

sasporella Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sasporella Posted 8 Apr 2008 , 8:02am
post #3 of 6

I haven't used clay moulds but to make the 3d head you need to......make a ball of fondant/gumpaste and push it into the mould. You then need to smooth the back of the paste (that is sticking out of the mould) into a rounded head shape. When you take it out of the mould you should have a 3d face/head.
Hope this helps.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 8 Apr 2008 , 11:43am
post #4 of 6

Oh heavens *YES!!!!* icon_smile.gif
The trick is to very lightly dust the mold w/cornstarch; push in a ball of fondant making sure it is well packed; level the bottom. Slightly wet your thumb & finger w/some gumglue and pinch them together until tacky, then use that to pull the face out. It's a fine line to that tacky stage. Just the right mixture of gp & water, then letting it dry a bit.

beachcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beachcakes Posted 8 Apr 2008 , 11:57am
post #5 of 6

This came up a couple of years ago.