What Am I Doing Wrong????

Decorating By Makanda Updated 4 Sep 2007 , 11:31pm by GenGen

Makanda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Makanda Posted 4 Sep 2007 , 10:34pm
post #1 of 12

icon_cry.gif Okay....I made my first stacked (3 tier) cake for my son's birthday last month. It turned out okay but I got that bulge in the middle of each tier where the buttercream filling was. Then, I read somewhere that you need to let the cake sit for a few hours so it can settle before frosting it. Thinking that would fix the bulging issue I did that with my daughter's birthday cake and I still got a bulge after I frosted it.

What am I doing wrong? I'm a relative beginner and I'm teaching myself...so you guys are my ONLY expert advice. I've learned soooo much from you already! Any ideas as to how to avoid the bulge?????

Thanks! icon_biggrin.gif

11 replies
reenie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
reenie Posted 4 Sep 2007 , 10:43pm
post #2 of 12

I push my cakes down into place and then let them sit for a while before I frost. Seems to help but I still get bulging filling every once in a while.

Elserj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elserj Posted 4 Sep 2007 , 10:47pm
post #3 of 12

Could be you are putting too much filling in. I make a thin, but tasteful layer and press my layer down. I don't think I've had a problem with my layers. HTH

adknight Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
adknight Posted 4 Sep 2007 , 10:48pm
post #4 of 12

Have you tried making an icing dam around the perimeter of your cakes before you fill them?

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 4 Sep 2007 , 10:54pm
post #5 of 12