Honest Opinions And Constructive Cristicsim Desired Please

Decorating By tobycat Updated 29 Aug 2007 , 3:07am by tobycat

tobycat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tobycat Posted 28 Aug 2007 , 8:44pm
post #1 of 18

This is my first time painting like this on fondant or on anything. This was my 2nd try in 2 days of a flower design that a friend of mind wants on her cake. The flowers are mimicking the pattern that is painted on her dress. I know they aren't spectacular, but I think they look a little better in real life. My camera is useless sometimes -- or I'm a useless photographer! There just don't seem to be as many specks everywhere in real life and the shading has more depth.

Anyway, I used white petal dust mixed with vodka and pearl dust to highlight. Dry petal dust to shade.

What do you think? Anyone have any suggestions for color combinations or painting tips?

The flowers on the dress (silk/satin) are a brighter silk/satin color with shades of light feather grey almost.

Thanks for any input -- I really appreciate the opinions and advice!

S.
LL

17 replies
kerri729 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kerri729 Posted 28 Aug 2007 , 8:48pm
post #2 of 18

Sonoma...........your work is beautiful.........I think it looks great!!! thumbs_up.gif

FatAndHappy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FatAndHappy Posted 28 Aug 2007 , 8:52pm
post #3 of 18

I think it looks great too! Did you do royal icing then the pearl?

Price Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Price Posted 28 Aug 2007 , 8:52pm
post #4 of 18

I think it looks great! I haven't had the nerve to try anything like that yet.

cookinmamma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cookinmamma Posted 28 Aug 2007 , 8:52pm
post #5 of 18

Your flowers are very pretty. I couldn't do something like that on the 10th try let alone the 2nd. GREAT JOB!! Don't be so hard on yourself...I know, better said than done.

UGoCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
UGoCakes Posted 28 Aug 2007 , 8:56pm
post #6 of 18