Fondant Behaving Badly

Decorating By loriann40 Updated 19 Aug 2007 , 12:48am by loriann40

loriann40 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
loriann40 Posted 15 Aug 2007 , 5:24pm
post #1 of 9

I am pretty new to cake decorating and am looking for some help. I have used mmf before sucessfully, but I made a batch of chocolate mmf yesterday and it is a disaster. It is cracking everywhere when I roll it out and seems to have very little pliability. I have tried adding a little water, crisco, and microwaving for a few seconds before rolling. It helped a little, but there's no way I'll be able to cover a cake without it cracking on the edges. Any suggestions would be appreciated!! Thanks!!

8 replies
keyshia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
keyshia Posted 15 Aug 2007 , 6:42pm
post #2 of 9

I wish I had some advice! Sounds like what happened to mine last week, and I fought with it for HOURS without success. icon_sad.gif I finally ended up scrapping it and starting over...adding less sugar. HOpefully someone else has a better tip! icon_wink.gif

EmilyGrace Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
EmilyGrace Posted 15 Aug 2007 , 6:50pm
post #3 of 9

I tried several times to make chocolate MMF with no luck. Cocoa is very drying and I couldn't get it to stop cracking and tearing. I gave up and ended up ordering mine pre made. The only thing I could suggest is try adding less powdered sugar (just add a little at a time till you get the right consistency). I don't think you can save the batch you made already. Good luck!

CharMarBoBar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CharMarBoBar Posted 16 Aug 2007 , 4:59pm
post #4 of 9

I just tried to make it, also for the first time, today myself. It got very stiff VERY fast. I didn't add very much PS (I couldn't get it to all mix together) and I'm not sure if I did right by stopping to add. It feels okay for right now...we'll see later how it rolls out!

Bijoudelanuit Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile