First Posted Pic- Honest Opinions Please

Decorating By caprica Updated 7 Aug 2007 , 1:18am by caprica

caprica Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
caprica Posted 6 Aug 2007 , 3:04am
post #1 of 9

Hi,
I posted my first pic of one of my first cakes and would love some honest, but kind, feedback. I'm self-taught, but would like to take a class in the future. Believe it or not, this is not BY FAR my worst cake. I hadn't taken many photos until I came across this site.
It was made for a potluck at a bank- I had trouble with the icing because it was so hot and humid. icon_cry.gif The shell border didn't quite hold up as well as I had planned. The gel colors I used didn't quite mix completely either.
~ I wasn't sure how to attach it, so please see my 'photos', thanks.

Feel free to offer any tips as well. They would be greatly appreciated.

This site is a wonderful resource... icon_smile.gif

8 replies
hellie0h Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hellie0h Posted 6 Aug 2007 , 3:57am
post #2 of 9

Hi caprica, what an adorable baby you have there as your avatar! I looked at your cake, I think you did a terrific job. The icing is very smooth. I too relate to the high temps and humidity, I have not turned my oven on since early July! I have seen in other posts, a recipe for high humidity buttercream, you may want to look in the recipe section and give that a try, otherwise maybe make the BC a tad more stiff. Chocolate transfers or frozen buttercream transfers are good methods to decorate cake top if you don't like to pipe freehand. I watched an online video on piping shells, I have a better idea of what I am doing wrong now, I need visual most of the time to understand technique. I bet your cake was a hit.
Helen

coreenag Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
coreenag Posted 6 Aug 2007 , 4:06am
post #3 of 9