Buttercream Transfer? What's That?

Decorating By diane Updated 24 Jan 2005 , 6:13pm by GHOST_USER_NAME

diane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
diane Posted 9 Jan 2005 , 5:29pm
post #1 of 27

hi, i heard a lot about people doing buttercream transfers, what's that? is it easy to do?
diana

26 replies
GHOST_USER_NAME Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GHOST_USER_NAME Posted 9 Jan 2005 , 10:54pm
post #2 of 27

I think they are easy to do. In a nutshell: a BCT is taking a picture (usually a coloring book type picture)and tracing it with buttercream.

Here are instructions:

http://community.webshots.com/user/cali4dawn

Look toward the bottom for "Buttercream Transfer Instructions."

If you look through my cakes, you will find many transfers on cakes as examples.

elverton Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elverton Posted 12 Jan 2005 , 2:08am
post #3 of 27

Hi Dawn, my name is Lisa. I am just starting out to decorating cakes. i always loved it, but now people are starting to ask me to make them cakes. I started with the shaped pans 4 years ago. I only started because I wanted to make a special cake for my son's birthday. I did Elmo, a fire truck, Thomas etc. But the problem I always had was that I have such a big family and was always forced to not only make the shaped pan which took me forever, but 5 other things to compensate for the rest of my family. The shaped pans are adding up and becoming useless because my son does not want the same cake as the year before. Now he wants things along with my daughter. in which there is no shaped pan for.