Caling All Calif. Legal Cake Bakers!

Business By mareg Updated 11 Jun 2007 , 11:34am by alicegop

mareg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mareg Posted 8 Jun 2007 , 5:13am
post #1 of 10

I want to get legal but have NOT a CLUE what to do for California. I know we cannot have a home bakery icon_cry.gificon_cry.gif How did you go about getting your licence?

Thanks so much for your help!

9 replies
Erlyns_Treats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Erlyns_Treats Posted 8 Jun 2007 , 5:17am
post #2 of 10

I would also like to know heres a BUMP

tobycat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tobycat Posted 8 Jun 2007 , 5:27am
post #3 of 10

Oh, you mean there are some legal ones here in CA? icon_confused.gif

Our system makes me so sick sometimes!

Anyway, I'm just a for fun baker, but I did look into the legal thing once a few months ago. You need a legal kitchen to start -- and that can't be in your home. You can use a legal kitchen in a church for example and then run the rest of the business out of your home.

There's a link somewhere on here that goes to the CA business bureau or someplace like that, but it's a confusing place to muck around in. I got the runaround between the chamber of commerce and 3 or 4 other places. The left hand definitely didn't know nor care what the right was doing. They just read their code and slammed the door (er phone) in my face.

Good luck - hope you're able to make it work.

S.

bcake1960 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bcake1960 Posted 8 Jun 2007 , 5:28am
post #4 of 10

Me too!!!

mareg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mareg Posted 8 Jun 2007 , 2:55pm
post #5 of 10

anybody know the link?

ShirleyW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShirleyW Posted 8 Jun 2007 , 2:59pm
post #6 of 10

The only legal home bakers I know of in California are ones who can afford to build a separate structure on their property, and even then, only if their neighborhood is zoned for commercial business.

alicegop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile