Gum Paste Flowers

Decorating By Myesha Updated 6 Jun 2007 , 3:55pm by Fairytale

Myesha Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Myesha Posted 5 Jun 2007 , 4:20pm
post #1 of 10

Hello. My name is Myesha and I'm new to this site (today is my second day) and I'm fairly new to cake decorating. I want to learn how to make the gumpaste flowers. What is a good way to learn? I checked at JoAnn's and I know they offer a class, but is this how most of you learned?

9 replies
cake-angel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cake-angel Posted 5 Jun 2007 , 5:11pm
post #2 of 10

I took A wilton class which didn't actually teach many flowers but it did teach a couple (carnations, daisies and fantasy flower). It gave me a feel of how to appraoch gumpaste. I then bought and borrowed books (library) and have been experimenting on my own. There are a lot of books out there with pretty good directions once you know which tools are used for which results!! i would still love to take some more advanced courses but there just aren't any remotely close to where I live.

JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 5 Jun 2007 , 5:15pm
post #3 of 10

Wecome to Cake Central. While there are excellent books on gumpaste flowers, one of the best ways to learn is from a video. I can highly recommend any of the Videos offered at nicholaslodge.com

He is a detailed, careful teacher. You will get excellent results, and they are affordable.

Myesha Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Myesha Posted 5 Jun 2007 , 8:30pm
post #4 of 10

Thank you both for the information. I'm going to check out the video and get some books. Thanks.

drwendy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
drwendy Posted 6 Jun 2007 , 2:03am
post #5 of 10