Teaching My 7Th Graders Cake Decorating..ideas..please

Decorating By bubbles4500 Updated 29 Apr 2007 , 1:10am by Doug

bubbles4500 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bubbles4500 Posted 28 Apr 2007 , 9:57pm
post #1 of 8

I'm a 7th grade teacher and our students are taking the state achievement tests this week. Our group of teachers decided we'd offer various non-educational activities for them to participate in the afternoons on testing days. The only way they were allowed to the activities is if they showed up on time and took the test each day. (I teach for Toledo Public Schools) which has a hard time with attendance in the inner-city.) Anyways, one of the activities we came up with was cake decorating...the kids are very excited. I'm making 6 inch rounds..one layer and have gotten the large bucket of buttercream from SAMS. I was thinking of doing the cookie cutter impression in the cake and teaching them how to star in the design?? Like in the wilton class..any other ideas of what to show them? I have about 2 and a half hours with them.
Thanks
Anita

7 replies
carries_creations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carries_creations Posted 28 Apr 2007 , 10:03pm
post #2 of 8

you could also teach them a simple border to coordinate with the cake-- and perhaps how to torte and fill a cake.

Sandra80 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sandra80 Posted 28 Apr 2007 , 10:06pm
post #3 of 8

how about getting some fondant and letting them make some little accents,(ribbon roses, bows, little figures etc.) it will seem familiar to them (like playing with play doh) so if anyone gets frustrated with the piping they can play with that.

Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 28 Apr 2007 , 10:07pm
post #4 of 8

cake decorating is NOT non-educational!