Cake Balls/cake Bites - Dipping Chocolate

Decorating By southerncake Updated 4 May 2005 , 6:48pm by SquirrellyCakes

southerncake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
southerncake Posted 3 May 2005 , 3:41pm
post #1 of 19

Hi everyone,

I have made cake balls/cake bites a couple of times after reading posts on this and a couple of the other sites, but my chocolate coating always seems to be too thick and overpowering.

What do you all use for dipping chocolate? Do you use melts or chocolate chips with shortening added? If so, how much shortening?

I have very little experience with chocolate, so I am not sure exactly what I should be doing.

Thanks in advance!

Amy

18 replies
Ladycake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ladycake Posted 3 May 2005 , 4:10pm
post #2 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by southerncake

Hi everyone,

I have made cake balls/cake bites a couple of times after reading posts on this and a couple of the other sites, but my chocolate coating always seems to be too thick and overpowering.

What do you all use for dipping chocolate? Do you use melts or chocolate chips with shortening added? If so, how much shortening?

I have very little experience with chocolate, so I am not sure exactly what I should be doing.

Thanks in advance!

Amy

I have used both melts and chips... I use a product called paramount crystals its flakes of shortening and you add it to your chocolate to thin it down a bit..

You melt your chocolate in a double broiler right??? that is two pans one is full of water and the other has your chocoalte in it ?? you keep the flame low or you boil hot water and then just put the pan on top of that with out a flame... Then you just dip them in there and scoope them out and bang the side of the pan with the scooper and knock some of the chocolate off and then place it on wax paper..

crp7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crp7 Posted 3 May 2005 , 4:35pm
post #3 of 19