Cake Decorating Books

Decorating By rlm5150 Updated 19 Apr 2006 , 1:51pm by rlm5150

rlm5150 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rlm5150 Posted 17 Apr 2006 , 2:22pm
post #1 of 9

My husband is looking to get me some books for my bday and I would like some advice on the best books to get. I have heard many of you talk about Colette Peters, Silvia Wienstock, Nicholas Lodge and many others. But, judging by my pix and that I am still new at this, what are your recomendations. I would really love to hear from as many of you as possible to make the best choice. What would be the best beginners textbook?
T I A.
Tabby

8 replies
crisseyann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crisseyann Posted 17 Apr 2006 , 6:26pm
post #2 of 9

A favorite of mine, that I refer to constantly is "Comprehensive Cake Decorating" by Vi Whittington. It's a soft covered book, only 52 pages long, but it holds a wealth of information. It starts with recipes for various icings, fondants, glazes, etc. It has cake charts for serving sizes, amounts of icing and batter you need for cakes. It shows many piping techniques, borders, flowers, writing tips, figure piping, lace making, pearls, marzipan figure making, airbrushing, edible images, curtain work, swags, bows. There is a chapter devoted to wedding cakes. The final chapter is gumpaste flowers.

Another more advanced book I adore, is The Whimsical Bakehouse. Gorgeous pictures and fabulous recipes. Alot of their cakes look rather difficult, but there are some that seem very do-able. Good luck!

rlm5150 Posted 17 Apr 2006 , 6:52pm
post #3 of 9

Thanks Crisseyann,
I will look into those both. I want two of the videos, also, that Wilton has on their web site but don't want to pay $20/each + at least $7 shipping. I look on Ebay and half.com before I make a major purchase to see if I can get it for a very good price. I will be looking for these later tonight.
Tabby

AuntEm Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AuntEm Posted 17 Apr 2006 , 7:18pm
post #4 of 9