I Have Discovered Scratch Cakes!

Decorating By mami2sweeties Updated 21 Feb 2006 , 5:33am by dailey

mami2sweeties Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mami2sweeties Posted 19 Feb 2006 , 4:20am
post #1 of 35

I used to always make a box mix. I thought it was great. I am a big baker. I love it. I enjoy making all kinds of cookies, bread, and desserts but cakes from scratch are something that scared me.

I tried it and I can see why some are hooked on cakes from scratch. They are so tastey. I tried 5 recipes. I liked them all for different reasons. Funny thing is they have the same ingredients but bake up a little different.

Do you all use a paddle attachment to make scratch cakes or whisk attachment? I only have a wisk but need to get a paddle attachment for my mixer. I made sure I did not over mix any of the cakes. I mixed just to combine.

Only one cake was yucky to me. It was made with unbleached flour. I definitely like the cake flour and self rising flour. Loved it!

I am a believer. If I have the time, I will make them from scratch from now on but will use a mix if I don't have time. Honestly, they don't take that much more time if you have a good mixer. Especially, if you are doctoring a mix.

Edited to add: I went a baking spree because I wanted to bake a cake with out the artificial stuff in mixes. I have some friends that are into all health food and I knew they would feel better eating my cakes if they were from scratch with no preservatives.

34 replies
Godiva Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Godiva Posted 19 Feb 2006 , 4:26am
post #2 of 35

Welcome to the club of the unadultered cakes. icon_biggrin.gif
Really, I like you, loved my box mixes..Until I was turned to a real cake (no offense).
It's a matter of finding a recipe that works for you and that is moist and light. Softasilk is the best cake flour so far...it's the only thing I use...eVen for my chocolate cake!