How To Drape Fondant

Decorating By chia Updated 23 Feb 2007 , 1:53pm by Steady2Hands

chia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chia Posted 22 Feb 2007 , 4:39pm
post #1 of 14

I'm new to using fondant and I'm trying to make a square "present" cake. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to make the fondant drape over the cake smoothly? What about the edges? On my practice run, there seemed to be too much fondant left on the edges and it ended up making a thicker area there and looking messy. What should I do? Thanks!

13 replies
Steady2Hands Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Steady2Hands Posted 22 Feb 2007 , 5:18pm
post #2 of 14

Do you have a picture of a cake similar to the effect you're trying to achieve? Are you looking for a more formal appearance or a relaxed appearance?

Here's one I did on a round cake but it is more "relaxed".

Wedding Cake:
http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=coppermine&file=displayimage&meta=allby&uname=Steady2Hands&cat=0&pos=9

Small Cake:
http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=coppermine&file=displayimage&meta=allby&uname=Steady2Hands&cat=0&pos=7

Here's a CC tutorial for a more "formal" look:
http://www.cakecentral.com/article63-How-To-Make-Fondant-Swags.html

On mine, I just used a pizza wheel to trim off the excess once it was on the cake.

I'm not sure if any of this is what you're looking for. If not, maybe someone else can help.

chia Posted 22 Feb 2007 , 5:42pm
post #3 of 14

Thanks for your reply. Your cakes are so beautiful- I only wish I could get mine to look that professional. Maybe one day! The main problem that I seem to have is that once the fondant is put on the cake top and I start to smooth eveything down to do the cutting of the extra fondant around the base, I seem to wind up with extra fondant that I can't smooth out on the sides. Almost like its gathered up on the sides. Any suggestions?

Pyxxydust Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pyxxydust Posted 22 Feb 2007 , 5:52pm
post #4 of 14