Frustrated Beyond Belief!!!!

Decorating By susieq01 Updated 19 Feb 2012 , 10:49am by AnnieCahill

susieq01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
susieq01 Posted 13 Feb 2012 , 7:52pm
post #1 of 23

I am a new cake decorator, or at least that is what I am supposed to be. So here is my question.

How do I - Do everything??????

Seriously, I read posts were people say "I am new at this and everything just falls into place!" That person is not me. Everything is a challenge. I bake cakes and for one reason or another it didn't turn out right. The cakes fall apart, the edges break off..........

I try crumb coating.........what a mess
I try fondant................... what a mess
I try filling icing bags.... what a mess
I try.................................. what a mess

Guess you get my point.

Since my car accident December 29, 2010 (busted my leg and ankle), my independence is gone and so is my teaching career. So many days and weeks have been filled watching video after video about cake decorating. No classes offered in my area. However, Hobby Lobby is finally offering Wilton classes. Hope I can get there in time to sign up since I can't drive (my husband has to take me after work) and HL is 30 miles away. Plus, they are only taking 10-12 students. Keeping my fingers crossed on that one.

It isn't lack of patience because I taught six year old students for 14 years. That should explain my patience level. Just plain want something to work right. I have made some gum paste figures that were not bad and a couple of cakes that were not bad. But what a battle to get those done with so much going wrong.

Will keep trying. I am not a quitter but today is making me rethink cake decorating hobby.

P.S. Just took my cake out of the cake pan and it fell apart!!!!

icon_cry.gificon_cry.gificon_cry.gif

22 replies
Allie06 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Allie06 Posted 13 Feb 2012 , 8:15pm
post #2 of 23