Need Advice On Starting To Teach - Please!

Decorating By slush Updated 4 Sep 2009 , 10:39am by slush

slush Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
slush Posted 1 Sep 2009 , 9:17pm
post #1 of 23

hi,
I've been talked into giving cake decorating classes to a group of 16 - 20yr old girls. They will be absolute beginners. (I've been promised!)

I'm really nervous as I don't really feel experienced enough to start teaching but I said i would give it a go and see how it goes.
each class is for 2hrs and it will be once a week over the year. (skipping weeks here and there for this and that)

I was wondering if any teachers out there could give me any words of wisdom, dos and don'ts etc??

Thank you

slush

22 replies
rottieluvr2000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rottieluvr2000 Posted 1 Sep 2009 , 9:31pm
post #2 of 23

Be yourself and don't freak out when you make a mistake.

mcaulir Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mcaulir Posted 1 Sep 2009 , 9:53pm
post #3 of 23

Be as organised as possible, leave at least half as much time again as you think things will take, but be ready if things go super quickly. Practise explaining things t the mirror or the dog so you know what phrases you will use.

Oh, maybe you meant only people who had taught cake decorating. The above are general teaching things. icon_smile.gif

cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 1 Sep 2009 , 11:55pm
post #4 of 23

Just pretend your on one of the cooking shows. In fact, you might just start saying everything out loud to yourself as you work right now. It will help you practice.

diane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
diane Posted 1 Sep 2009 , 11:59pm
post #5 of 23

what...are you kidding?? icon_confused.gif

i took a look at your cakes...you're ready! icon_biggrin.gif

just be yourself, take your time...and have fun! thumbs_up.gif

slush Posted 2 Sep 2009 , 7:16am
post #6 of 23

Thans so much everyone!
and mcaulir any advice is good for me, I've never tought before!