A Few Questions

Decorating By cakemomma7 Updated 30 Aug 2009 , 12:01am by KitchenKat

cakemomma7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakemomma7 Posted 26 Aug 2009 , 6:06pm
post #1 of 21

Hi everyone, I'm new to this board and also to trying cake decorating in a true fashion. I've always made my children's cakes but they were just regular character pan cakes and then star patterned icing that was bought from the store. I've been watching all kinds of cake shows lately and am really getting into it and would love to try my hand at it and give my kids some great birthday cakes and family and friends maybe too.

I've never worked with fondant or "leveled" my cakes or anything like that. So I'm new to all that type of stuff. I have a good idea on how to do things and have been reading alot on this forum of other's posts. I'm trying my hand at my first fondant cake and have a few simple questions to ask. So any help would be appreciated.

First, I don't want to make my own fondant just yet. I'd rather get a feel for what its like to use it first. However, I hear the stuff you buy in the store is yucky in taste and I want to coat the cake in it and have it also taste decent. Can you add flavoring to the fondant and kneed it into it, like vanilla extract?

Second, is about refridgeration or not. Should you always keep your cake refridgerated or is it ok to leave it out till you go to eat it. I'm going to start making the cakes today and we are taking it on a small trip on Friday with us to my parents house because the cake is for my dad. I have read that you should freeze your cakes for overnight before you decorate it. This locks in moisture. How long should I thaw it for before decorating it? Then I was going to start making the fondant decorations to put on the cake tomorrow and let them dry overnight into Friday morning and then assemble the cake on Friday before we leave.