Self Taught Vs Culinary School Credentials

Decorating By TickledPink Updated 29 Oct 2005 , 10:13am by copperppot

TickledPink Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TickledPink Posted 28 Oct 2005 , 11:32am
post #1 of 16

Over the past few weeks I have looked at more and more cake shop/bakeries websites and they always post information about the baker. So far I've found one that was "self-taught" and the rest of them have culinary school education or some sort of formal education in the arts.

How important do you think that is in business? or buying a cake from a shop? When someone commands $3,000 - $8,000 for a detailed wedding cake do you think they get it because of their credentials or that self-taught bakers earn as much and come off equally credible and worthy of the high dollar amount?

I guess what I'm saying is, how important do you think formal education is?

15 replies
SugarCreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarCreations Posted 28 Oct 2005 , 12:01pm
post #2 of 16

You will find several people on CC you are self taught I am one of them.
The best thing to do is figure out which direction you want to go. I know from research that the CIA wants you to have 6 months experience in a commerical kitchen before they will even admit you to the CIA.
Formal culinary education is expensive too say the least. But you can learn the basics on your own once you have those then the rest is up to you. There are plenty of top chefs that are self taught.