I Have Some Newbie Questions

Decorating By darby822 Updated 1 Feb 2007 , 9:07pm by all4cake

darby822 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
darby822 Posted 1 Feb 2007 , 8:21pm
post #1 of 12

I am brand new to cake decorating and I have a couple of basic questions.

My Wilton instructor told us we had to freeze our cake and then defrost it before we decorate. I've read posts on this site though where people say they never serve frozen cake. Does that mean that they do not freeze it at all before they decorate or that they do not have cakes just sitting around in the freezer waiting to be used?

Also, how do I make fondant black? I have been told that if you add a lot of black coloring it will taste bad. I have an idea for a black and white cake but I want to make sure it will actually be edible.

Thanks for your help!

11 replies
valora387 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
valora387 Posted 1 Feb 2007 , 8:26pm
post #2 of 12

Lots of people on here bake fresh cakes and don't freeze them at all. I mostly do cakes at home and for friends, but I've never frozen one and never had a problem decorating them, either.
As for the fondant, try making chocolate fondant and then adding the black color. I've seen that suggested on here a few times.
Good luck, happy decorating!

Bradymom6 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bradymom6 Posted 1 Feb 2007 , 8:27pm
post #3 of 12

darby822,
I never froze any of my cakes for my Wilton Courses and I have taken three of the four. I am not sure why the instructor wants you to do this. As for the black fondant, I cannot give an answer to that one. I have not done black BC or black fondant. Hopefully, someone else on here will have an answer for that question. I know that Americolors are some of the best for getting dark colors. That and time. HTH
Bradymom

JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 1 Feb 2007 , 8:29pm
post #4 of 12

Welcome to Cake Central.