How Many?. . .

Decorating By Lynelle Updated 9 Mar 2005 , 3:28pm by Mchelle

Lynelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lynelle Posted 8 Mar 2005 , 9:39pm
post #1 of 16

For all the experts out there. . .
How many boxes of cake mix would it take to make a half-sheet cake? The pan measures 12x18 and is 2" deep. (I think it's a half-sheet) Is it super difficult to slice it in half -- with the saw-like thing from Wilton -- to make it into a 2-layer cake?
Thank you in advance for all the advice.
-Lynelle

15 replies
briansbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
briansbaker Posted 8 Mar 2005 , 9:46pm
post #2 of 16

I am no expert, but I have a round 14x3 and it holds 3 cake mixes..When I first used it I thought shoot it will hold 4 with no problem, well that and my oven. Took me forever to get the smoke out! And the mess was ---> icon_surprised.gif As far as cutting it. I freeze mine first then I add little dots on the sides to make a center cut. I use a bread knife. I just insert the knife as far as it will go and start cutting one side then I turn it around and do the same to the other side. Works every time!

GHOST_USER_NAME Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GHOST_USER_NAME Posted 8 Mar 2005 , 10:15pm
post #3 of 16

I'd say 3-4 mixes. I use almost 2 full mixes in my 9*13 pan.

I torte all my cakes using a bread knife, even though I own the leveler you described. just faster and easier in my mind.

applejack Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
applejack Posted 8 Mar 2005 , 10:22pm
post #4 of 16

I have this pan and I use 3 mixes

linnburg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
linnburg Posted 9 Mar 2005 , 12:12am
post #5 of 16